2018 winners

Savannah Kimzey – Yakima

Savannah got involved with La Casa Hogar as a high school sophomore. La Casa Hogar is a small house in downtown Yakima that helps immigrants with education, daycare, and driving lessons. Savannah recognized that La Casa Hogar lacked school supplies, so she created a Spanish Club and convinced others to join with promises of food, music, and fun. The Spanish Club started a districtwide school supply fundraiser and marketed the effort through goofy advertisement videos and posters. The successful marketing effort raised thousands of dollars. Through this experience, Savannah came to realize that even high school students can make a difference in the world. Savannah plans to become an elementary teacher.

Collin Pittmann – Rosalia

Collin wants to become a television news anchor and continue his dedication to the nonprofit he developed. Against initial negative feedback, in 2016 Collin founded the Rosalia Community Theatre to provide youth with theatrical experience through annual productions. Several teachers, community members, and parents have noted how the youth gain confidence and teamwork skills through the experience. Former Rosalia Mayor Nan Konishi wrote, “This young man has demonstrated through his service and leadership that he has the kind of potential that leads me to believe that we will be saying, ‘I knew him when…’ years from now.” Colin intends to use his passion for communication and theatre to expand his nonprofit into more communities.

Zachariah Fincher – Friday Harbor

Zach created ROCK SOLID in sixth grade. A youth prevention club that continues to this day, ROCK SOLID promotes healthy decisions among youth by advocating for policy change at the community level, engaging youth and family in healthy activities, and collaborating with schools. Zach developed the script for “A Role to Play,” a story about reducing bullying and promoting stress management through breathing techniques, and presented the script at a statewide prevention competition in 2017. Zach will present at the Community Anti-Drug Coalition of America National Leadership Training in 2018. Zach plans to become an orthopedic surgeon and start a medical research practice.

Hannah Stewart – Mercer Island

Hannah is actively involved in numerous activities to promote and support a healthier community. She served as emcee at the Prevention Policy Day, a yearly event held at the Capitol where youth advocates educate legislators. This year’s focus was Tobacco 21, a bill to raise the tobacco and vapor products age restrictions to 21. The event drew more than 200 people and left Hannah energized and humbled. Hannah also previously worked with the Attorney General and Secretary of Health testifying for policies to decrease harms to youth from substance abuse. Hannah ultimately wants to secure a law degree and continue to positively influence public policy through service in public office.

Evarosa Perry – Cheney

Evarosa is involved in her community in a variety of ways, including as Chapter President of the Future Business Leaders of America. She has a passion and commitment to the power that swimming brings to others. As a swim team coach, she harnessed the strength that coaching gives her to open the outdoor pool on weekdays during the summer. During this process, Evarosa mentored eight-year-old swimmers and learned that being a leader meant that she had to make difficult decisions in order to focus on swim safety. Evarosa ultimately wants own a business to improve the health, happiness, and life skills of her community.

Kristina Te – Tukwila

Kristina is passionate about the importance of financial empowerment. She participated in the Free Tax Campaign, a movement to secure tax refunds (using tools such as the Earned Income Tax Credit and Child Tax Credits) for working individuals and families. As part of her efforts, she studied and passed certification to become a Certified Advanced Tax Preparer and Intake Specialist at the Tukwila Community Center. She was apprehensive about the discrimination she might face as a teenager in this role, but Kristina was ready to prove her skills. Ultimately, she helped her community mitigate financial risk. Because of this experience, Kristina aspires to become a Certified Public Accountant.

Johana Ocampo Becerra – Mount Vernon

Johana has been bilingual from an early age and throughout the years she learned to overcome obstacles. She knows what it was like to grow up learning English with limited tutoring resources. Because of this, Johana volunteers at the Kulshan Creek Center where she tutors children in her community. Johana has worked with children from disadvantaged homes with very limited academic support. Through this significant responsibility, she works to let others know that they are not alone, they can feel included, and they can excel at school. Johana recently started a new job as a paraeducator substitute and hopes to one day open her own business.

Nayeli Cervantes – Pasco

Nayeli provides Spanish interpreting services at Bailey Garzert Elementary School so that families can understand their childrens’ schoolwork assignments. At one point, the students were asked to convey their future goals to their parents. When Nayeli interpreted it, she was inspired by the parents’ overwhelming reactions to learning that their children had big dreams and plans for their lives, like going to college. Nayeli feels that her work with the elementary kids is making a real impact, and that it helps guide the students toward a better future. She’s working towards her masters in social work and wants to help juveniles navigate out of the criminal justice system.


2017 winners

Amber Torell • Claudia Penney • Rosalyn Goveia • Kristina Dorris • Uyen (Cathy) Dao • Abigail Brandt

2016 winners

Kioko Soneda, Burlington • Carson Bergstrom, Pasco • Alisha Purdom, Marysville • Grae Hill, Lacey • Ethan Toth, Wenatchee • Johana Ocampo, Mount Vernon

2015 winners

Zachary Anders, Lynnwood • Nandina Cengic, Tukwila • Nayeli Cervantes, Pasco • Joanna Santana, Quincy • Isabel Gabriel, Friday Harbor • Simran Handa, Mukilteo • Dagmawit Kemal, Seattle • Olesya Mironchuk, Seattle • Tin Vo, Seattle • Jalen Wright, Seattle

2014 winners

Katelyn Dolan, Liberty Lake • Prabha Dublish, Sammamish • Nina Klinkhammer, Lakewood • Lucas Gordon, Anacortes

2013 winners

Emina Dacic, Tukwila • Michael Dyer, Kelso • Danielle Larson, Almira • Elizabeth McKeen, Anacortes • Ce’Nedra Thomas, Latah • Kendall Todd, Odessa

2012 winners

Russell Wiita, Sultan • Mason Cole, Anacortes • Colleen Delp, Dayton • Sonja Sanchez, Bridgeport